Arcanum won't run (goes black then back to desktop)

Discussion in 'Arcanum Hints & Tips' started by Tech_Rss, Dec 30, 2007.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. Tech_Rss

Tech_Rss New Member

Hello! I'm totally new to the Arcanum, but other Troika games are familiar to me (can't believe I missed this).

My Fallout-junkie friend recently recommended Arcanum and after reading a little about the game, I was already drooling. So I bought the copy and immediately started installing.

Installing went nicely, but when I clicked "Play" on autorun screen, screen goes black for about 3 seconds and falls back to the desktop. CD is buzzing in the drive, but it just won't start.

I'm running on XP.

Thank you in advance!

2. Dirtman

Dirtman New Member

I don't know. I run Arcanum on XP with zero problems. :D

Try reinstall. Maybe that'll help. And patch the game before you play it.

3. Jazintha Piper

Jazintha Piper Member

That happened to my boyfriend's computer - he's modified it so much, but his OS is still Windows XP.

His only solution was to reinstall Windows. After installing all the relevant patches, he can play now, but only when nothing else like burning, music or virus-scanning is running in the background.

--Piper

4. Philes

Philes Well-Known Member

Jazintha, you realize that your retardedly long signature takes up like half of my vertical screen real estate, don't you? Why? What goes through your head when you copy and paste 20 lines of unfunny text from something that you'd find in a forwarded email from your aunt?

In response to your question Tech_rss, I have XP and it works for me, so there's a way. I'd say a fresh install is worth trying. Make sure you patch the game as well. Other than that I don't know what to tell ya, sorry.

5. Frigo

Frigo Active Member

Yeah, we are phobophobiacs, so remove that sig.