Request concerning Script Ed

Discussion in 'Modding and Scripting Support' started by Dj_Unique, Dec 11, 2001.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. Dj_Unique

    Dj_Unique Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    I'm almost finished with the second beta version of Script Ed 1.0 and I'd like you to tell me what features you'd like to see in it, in addition to those I've already implemented.

    So far I have these:
    (Taken from the README.TXT)

    Improvements:
    ---------------------------

    - compiler code improved, in some cases a conditional statement wouldn't
    compile at all... (Such as PC Variable 1 of Attachee) This is now fixed.
    the code has been tested with numerous scripts, and found to be correct,
    not producing incorrect scripts.
    Even scripts with more than 200 lines compile correctly

    - script parser code adjusted to allow more freedom in the syntax
    (when you compile your script, it will be neatly reformatted)
    it's now case insensitive, no matter if the text is in all uppercase and
    all lowercase =)

    NOTE: some keywords are still case sensitive though:

    Local
    Global Variable
    Global Flag
    PC Variable
    PC Flag

    This is because if I made these case insensitive, it might confuse
    the parser and produce undesired results.
    However, there's a solution for this: use gf, gv, lv instead of these,
    if you want.

    - in the first beta, if you typed a line like this

    0. do nothing
    10. do nothing

    it would add 9 empty lines between them

    New in Beta 2:

    - Starting up is now much faster
    - Moved attached variable settings and general script header
    data menu options to a script properties window (accessible from script->properties)
    - Added prototype ID finder
    - Added a progressbar to the startup window
    - Preferences dialog
    - Added module selector and a module specific script loader
    this hides any reserved dir names (like "semes", "mes", "Rules" and such)
    - Startup made easier. Now the preferences window will be shown
    and if you cancel the setup, it doesn't crash on you :smile:
    - Automatic line number remapping.. for example, if you type

    0. dialog 1
    goto line 2
    1. return and SKIP default

    it will remap the lines like this:

    0. dialog 1
    1. goto line 2
    2. return and SKIP default

    - Dialogue editing (via notepad.exe for now, maybe add a better method later)

    and lots of other minor tweaks I can't think of right now.
     
  2. Dj_Unique

    Dj_Unique Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Update to new features:

    -Added opcode macros, which are shortcuts
    to different commands and variable types. These are customizable from the preferences menu.
    example:


    gf 2 = 1
    retr


    produces this:

    0. Global Flag 2 = 1
    1. return and RUN default


    - Added ability to open module-specific data
    from the modules that ship with Arcanum (the main Arcanum module and VormanTown)
    However, Arcanum.dat contains a lot of files (over 70000), I'll need to create a cache file for the directory tree to reduce loading times. (doing it soon)

    I'll keep you posted if I still add
    more stuff (and, uh, this way, I'll increase post count.. :wink:)

    <font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Dj_Unique on 2001-12-11 12:55 ]</font>
     
  3. Dj_Unique

    Dj_Unique Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Wahey! More cool features for ScriptEd beta 2

    ("Spam spam spam spammity spam", here's your
    favorite annoying poster again flooding the boards with useless information about a
    useless program to get more posts)

    Yep, here's another update on what to expect in the second beta, just to let you know I'm
    not slacking off with the development of the program.

    Fixes
    -----

    - a serious bug in ArcDATlib (the thingie that allows ScriptEd to access .DAT files) has been fixed, which causes any other program
    trying to access the arcanum DAT files to crash on startup (namely WorldEd,
    Sockmonkey and probably Arcanum itself) when ScriptEd is running at the
    same time. Now the code has been modified to open a DAT file only when
    its files are being accessed, rather than keeping it open all the time.


    New stuff
    ---------

    - added cache file load function for ArcDATLib to allow partial loading of directory trees, now the directory tree of arcanum2.dat is read from a special cache file with only the SCR-folder.

    - Added ability to specify an external .DLG editor and .MES editor. (for example, you
    can you the Arcanum Dialog Editor for editing dialogue and Notepad for the .MES files) :smile:
    - Now you can select scripts from your
    module via a separate menu showing the
    script ID, filename and description.
    There are several module-specific files

    - Added some of the numeric codes to
    opcode macros
    (such as armor types, stats, races, damage
    types, weapon types and more)
    Here's an example to illustrate their usage:

    this line:
    skill pick_pockets of player: store in lv 0

    will become
    0. skill 5 of Player: store in Local 0

    after compiling

    Quite a clever trick, eh? :smile:

    (You could also define complete lines as
    opcode macros, the possibilities are endless.)


    Well, that's all for now.
     
  4. DarkUnderlord

    DarkUnderlord Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Okay, how's this...

    Say you create something like this (just as an example):

    0. Call script 9 at line 2 with triggerer Triggerer and attachee Attachee
    1. return and SKIP default

    At the moment (from my limited mucking around) if you want to change the 'triggerer' to 'player' you have to type in 'Player' which leads to possibile spelling errors.

    How about making it so that (I'm not sure how you'd do this) but somehow make it that when you click on 'Triggerer' a list/menu/dialog box of all the possible options (current looped object and all of those) pops up and you can just click on the one you want (eg 'player') and then the list/dialogue box disappears and the line becomes:
    0. Call script 9 at line 2 with triggerer Player and attachee Attachee

    You could also do the same with 'Attachee' and other things like '(num)' etc... CLicking on the 'variable' makes a menu pop up with some choices.

    Numbers would still have to be enetered manually though (nice and easy that way). Unless you make a text field pop up and type the number in there... But I think that would be stupid...

    I think this might be a bit hard to do so release what you've got now and maybe work on this if you've got the time (or if you can understand what I mean)
     
  5. Dj_Unique

    Dj_Unique Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Done & done.

    I'll be waiting for more suggestions for
    the next release :smile:

    Now I'll put it aside for a while and
    concentrate on the scripting of
    "Killer Inside"..
     
Our Host!