scripting question..

Discussion in 'Modding and Scripting Support' started by Dj_Unique, Nov 14, 2001.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. Dj_Unique

Dj_Unique Member

I'm kinda new to the modding community (but definitely not clueless)
    I've got a question about scripting in Arcanum..
    and the question is:

How do I make an NPC initiate dialogue with the player?

(Tried it in a heartbeat script but it didn't work out that way..)

So could somebody please shed a little light on this issue?

Thanks in advance..

2. DarkUnderlord

DarkUnderlord Administrator Staff Member

Tie this to the heartbeat. It's one I made myself and am using in the Amtut Mod (not the tutorial version). This is the way I got it to work:

0. If player is within 2 tiles of location X:169 Y:170
    THEN call script 5 at line 2 with triggerer Player and attachee attachee
    ELSE float line 100 aboce attachee
    1. return and RUN default
    2. call script 5 at line 5 with triggerer triggerer and attache attachee in 1 seconds
    3. call script 6 at line 0 with triggerer player and attachee attachee
    4. return and SKIP default
    5. change script attached to attachee at point 19 to script 0
    6. return and SKIP default

Okay noe for an explanation. The number of this script is '5' I use 'call script' because it doesn't renumber like 'goto' does and as such saves me a lot of pain and trouble.

Line 0: The NPC will float a line 'Where is he/she?' above his head if the player is not near him. This is not necessary if you don't want it there.

Line 1: return and RUN is used because the NPC is pacing back and forth, as such RUN keeps him pacing. Not necessary if NPC is not pacing.

Line 2: This stops the script from constantly being called again and again and again (maybe a problem you had?) It calls THIS script (5) at line 5 in 1 second.